WHAT WAS THE ‘SECRET CIRCLE’ AND WHY DOES IT STILL HAUNT ME?

Now the primetime season is officially over, the annual season ends in September – I can look back at my predictions over the last months, and more importantly;
How the hell did I end up here?

I started a thread on the media section of a forum nearly four years ago. I first posted the TV ratings, then news on the latest shows and then one forum member asked on the renewal chances of a certain show. I can’t remember off the top of my head which one it was, I can recall in nightmare-ish detail a series that still haunts me as it was one of my few epic fails ‘The Secret Circle’.

If you’ve followed my predictions in the past you’ll know I get the majority of them right even in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary. This season was slightly different as networks adjusted their parameters for renewing shows but I digress, back to ‘The Secret Circle’.

I called it as a ‘Guaranteed Renewal’ it was unceremoniously cancelled by The CW after 1 season. I realized where I’d gone wrong and it served as a template for nearly all future predictions. The ratings appeared to be OK at the time I looked into it, I needed to track and monitor not only that particular series but all others around it to see if there are warning signs. I didn’t and got it way wrong!

I was pretty hard on myself, I felt I could do better and sure enough 12 months later I called just about every single renewal/cancellation correctly.

Now you’d think I would have this mastered to a fine art by now but nope! This season was pretty sucky by the high standards I’ve set myself.

Why? I’ll (try) & explain later.

Oh, one more thing actually show didn’t too bad compared to some of the other series on The CW that received re-ups at that time. Take a look at the trailer above and let me know what you think..

3 thoughts on “WHAT WAS THE ‘SECRET CIRCLE’ AND WHY DOES IT STILL HAUNT ME?”

Leave a Reply

